top of page

parallels

Updated: Oct 24, 2020

I chose to call this piece "parallels" because in spite of my feeling unheard and minimized by certain people groups, I noticed I do the same thing. I display that same apathy and unwillingness to be discomforted in hearing another person's experience.

In this instance, the person I tend to brush off is my own dad. He's a retired CSI officer and to say that he's witnessed grisly offenses against humanity is an understatement. However, instead of validating his experience and lending a listening ear, I often times get offended. I don't want to hear it because it's gut-wrenchingly sad, it's painful, and it's uncomfortable.

And then it dawned on me, this is the exact behavior I get upset with people for who brush off my experience as a Black person. In order to heal, it takes a two-way vulnerability. Not only do you have to be brave enough to share, but the listener has to be brave enough to make space for uncomfortable perspective shifts.


 


parallels


Every time my dad goes to share

trauma

I succinctly shut him down.


What if

I am curtailing his healing?


He has witnessed the aftermath

of a civilian war zone

Death and destruction

were his line of work


Bodies of babies chopped up

blood poured out like red Kool-aid

A toddler bruised from head to toe

Rocks embedded in her infantile skull

From being dragged across asphalt

These are just a few of the things he's seen


My God, My God...

He's seen things no one should ever see

He worked in CSI

but what I C is I

selfishly shut him down

and refuse to hear

what he has to say

because I don't want to feel that

I don't want to feel uncomfortable


I spurn sorrow

God forbid I shed a tear

But what do I do with sorrow??


I fear it will overtake me

and I've worked so hard to maintain peace


what if i'm inhibiting intimacy

because I turn a deaf ear when my dad

tries to bare his soul


I tell him.."yea, yall should get therapy

to unpack

cuz what you've seen is deadly

how are you still sane?"

and then I turn right around

and completely disengage


smile and nod, and barely listen to a word he has to say


I don't know how to bear his burdens

I operate from a place of on the surface


I would rather not get into the nitty gritty

of emotion

even when I clean the kitchen, I don't want to get

too deeply involved

I keep my gloves on and fling

my dirty dishes into a machine


so God, please tell me how to reconcile


how can I ever get close to anyone

if i'm not willing to feel uncomfortable?


Truth be told..I'm scared.


Feel it for what?


Even with my baby sometimes I feel myself

put space in between when she comes to me

frustrated

why can’t you just be okay??

I erect a wall, look at her objectively

and try to calm her without feeling what she is feeling

I don't want her emotion to touch mine

A certain level of self-preservation is paramount

you must be mindful and protect your peace

however, I may have gone so far as to police

the very people that need to be pulled in

Recent Posts

See All

Chasing Dreams #QuarantineChronicles

3/30/2020 one of my favorite past times used to be being sad pining over things and people that i never should have had ol boy didn't satisfy me then even when I had you but lets be real, i never *rea

Good-Bye Old Friend #QuarantineChronicles

[Super quick intro for context] *Deep Sigh* One thing I'm still not used to is letting go of friends that no longer mesh with what God is doing in my life. If I'm being real, I'm a little jealous of p

Wired Up/Breakup Letter #QuarantineChronicles

Part 1 Wired Up A little literary Therapy For when I’m feeling Wound up... Bound up... In an influx Of invasive thoughts, Incessant scrolling, Compulsive clicking Stuck to the screens Like a moth to b

Post: Blog2_Post
bottom of page