top of page

Chasing Dreams #QuarantineChronicles

3/30/2020

one of my favorite past times

used to be being sad

pining over things and people

that i never should have had


ol boy didn't satisfy me then

even when I had you

but lets be real,

i never *really* had you


you were never truly mine

but thats how i wanted it to be

just be my friend

without boundaries

what a deluded ideology


i'd spend hours on your page

worshiping your image

bold in virtuality

with the real you, I was timid


I preferred to caress the idea of you

cuz in your presence

i always felt so distant

even with no space between us

i only barely grasped your essence


i always wondered what was going

on

in that mind of yours

we shared plenty of laughs

not very many words


who am i kidding?

the enemy slung you right

in front of me

you were a stillshot capture of

all my vain imaginings


simultaneously looking like

all i thought i wanted

and all i thought i wanted to be

oh what discomfort

caused by a spirit of familiarity


I say loose me now.

I'm not a slave to you Satan.

pining for the past

switch it up,

i see you baiting


so even though I

may fail and fall for the bait again

my God lifts me up

reminds me of

the joy I have in Him


He fills my life with good things

and satisfies my desires

Placed His Holy Spirit

IN me to fill me with His Love


I am THE LORD'S CHILD.

I am in a covenant.

Lord God please lift me up.



 


Part II

Lord God please lift me up

I am struggling with obedience

amidst this pandemic

One day I'm good

the next I'm stuck


I am alone and oh how free

to be alone with You my Lord

til I pick my phone up and get

sucked in a virtual reality


What is time spent with You?

Am I making it complicated?

Been feeling trapped in

My prayer closet

And stuck in a routine

of doing all these things for God

When He says just BE with Me


Yet I run even now


I know Him as my Abba

yet do I really know Him??

What is this part of me

that runs and hides...


He says my commands are

not burdensome

Yet inconvenience and discomfort

are all I can see

He says My burden is light,

My yoke is easy

Why is that hard for you to believe?


Trust in Me

I am a jealous God for you,

because you're dear to Me

I hate to see you chasing dreams

It's all death apart from Me

I want to fill you with good things

but will you let Me?

Recent Posts

See All

Good-Bye Old Friend #QuarantineChronicles

[Super quick intro for context] *Deep Sigh* One thing I'm still not used to is letting go of friends that no longer mesh with what God is doing in my life. If I'm being real, I'm a little jealous of p

Wired Up/Breakup Letter #QuarantineChronicles

Part 1 Wired Up A little literary Therapy For when I’m feeling Wound up... Bound up... In an influx Of invasive thoughts, Incessant scrolling, Compulsive clicking Stuck to the screens Like a moth to b

Introducing: Quarantine Chronicles

Hello internet cousins! (insert cheesy wave) We are officially in the 4th quarter of this momentous year known as 2020. The year of "clear vision" that left me questioning if I reallllyyy was ready to

Post: Blog2_Post
bottom of page