top of page

Good-Bye Old Friend #QuarantineChronicles


[Super quick intro for context]


*Deep Sigh* One thing I'm still not used to is letting go of friends that no longer mesh with what God is doing in my life. If I'm being real, I'm a little jealous of people who have gotten to hang on to old friends from elementary/high school or even college!


For me, I've had to accept that that is just not my story. In my case, God drew a pretty distinct line of demarcation where I had to cut ties with a loooot of things and people from my past. Some were obviously toxic and admittedly were easier to break from. However, some I genuinely love to this day and so it's difficult when they resurface and I have to establish new boundaries. Deep down, my heart aches and yearns to reconnect; yet even deeper down, I know I won't have peace if I disobey God's wisdom. And thus, from a recent occurrence of said dilemma, this poem was born.


 

He says,

I don’t mean to bother you,

but I miss my friend.

Come again?

I hate to inform you,

but she doesn’t live here anymore,

That girl you used to know?

I’m afraid she no longer exists

You know,

The one you played hooky

From church with?

She no longer exists.

The one you used to smoke with?

No longer exists

That version of me you remember?

No longer exists

I’m new.

And I don’t think we would vibe

Like we used to

Cuz back then, you were lost

And I was tryna be lost too

And its no shade, no reproof

Honestly I’m at a loss

Of how to approach you

I fear it will be awkward

And disappointing to

Both of us

To find we are worlds apart,

When we used to be the best of friends

Crazy how that happens.

I marvel at the fragility

Of human relationships

What holds them together?

We are so different now,

Yet in some ways we may be the same

You know my face,

And you know my name.

But my outlook on life,

My ideology’s changed

No longer is Christ an option

He is the only way.

And maybe we’ve crossed paths again

So that my heart may ache.

We may no longer be cool,

But for your sake, I may oblige you


….or not

[Still praying on it]

But my wish to you,

My want for you

Is to accept an eternal friendship

That would save your very soul.

I want you saved,

I want you healed

I want you free

I want you whole

And then…..maybe when

God has reconciled you

To Himself, He can

Reconcile us to perhaps

Be friends again

But even if he doesn’t

I will allow my heart to

Remain content

And in the meantime,

I will be praying you for you,

Good-bye old friend.

Recent Posts

See All

Chasing Dreams #QuarantineChronicles

3/30/2020 one of my favorite past times used to be being sad pining over things and people that i never should have had ol boy didn't satisfy me then even when I had you but lets be real, i never *rea

Wired Up/Breakup Letter #QuarantineChronicles

Part 1 Wired Up A little literary Therapy For when I’m feeling Wound up... Bound up... In an influx Of invasive thoughts, Incessant scrolling, Compulsive clicking Stuck to the screens Like a moth to b

Introducing: Quarantine Chronicles

Hello internet cousins! (insert cheesy wave) We are officially in the 4th quarter of this momentous year known as 2020. The year of "clear vision" that left me questioning if I reallllyyy was ready to

Post: Blog2_Post
bottom of page