top of page

Pain Procrastinated

I only allow a preview of negativity

...I say I'll get back to process it,

but I never do

grief at the tip of your tongue

right when I'm about to feel anything

I retract back instead and go numb

My heart hurts for Ahmaud

but experience has taught me

that no one is listening

If I speak, even in love...

I presume they will assume I'm militant

I've seen them.

The Black people so overwhelmed with

Heartbreak that it morphs into outrage

Spewing hate and resentment

from a truly broken place

I feel compassion for you but

I am scarred.

I mean I get it, I feel it too

I see the discrepancy.

When I contemplate explaining that

Black Lives Matter doesn't mean White ones don't

its just..the penalty for law enforcement

unduly taking our lives seems nonexistent


Understand, I love my White friends

but there is a part of me I swallow whole

when I want to explain what only pertains to me


Like...you won't take me serious

or maybe you'll dismiss me,

or say I'm too concerned with race

so I stay silent


Though it's churning deep inside of me

I've learned to repress any feeling

or sentiment that may ruffle feathers


But I am tired


My fragile bones exhausted from the

unconscious weight of carrying this existence

This Black experience


I shun parts of my culture publicly

so as to seem more dignified

I am afraid that if I say anything

pertaining to injustice

I will be lumped into the caricature of:

Afrocentric angry black girl

with her fist up.


I brush everything off

with the thought:

Well...this world is fallen and in sin

that's just how it is,

and how it will be

until we find this world redeemed


However true,

it's still an excuse

for me to circumvent my feelings

How can I have empathy,

if I never let myself feel anything

The truth is...

I don't know how to feel.

what do I do with the pain of

Recurring plight unresolved??


I don't know how to welcome

grief and sorrow in

so they come in through the back door


They are there,

however unaware I am

Recent Posts

See All

Chasing Dreams #QuarantineChronicles

3/30/2020 one of my favorite past times used to be being sad pining over things and people that i never should have had ol boy didn't satisfy me then even when I had you but lets be real, i never *rea

Good-Bye Old Friend #QuarantineChronicles

[Super quick intro for context] *Deep Sigh* One thing I'm still not used to is letting go of friends that no longer mesh with what God is doing in my life. If I'm being real, I'm a little jealous of p

Wired Up/Breakup Letter #QuarantineChronicles

Part 1 Wired Up A little literary Therapy For when I’m feeling Wound up... Bound up... In an influx Of invasive thoughts, Incessant scrolling, Compulsive clicking Stuck to the screens Like a moth to b

Post: Blog2_Post
bottom of page