top of page

2018 Hair Hits (and Misses)

I've been on my natural hair journey (and yes..it has been a journey) for a little over 7 years now and there are things I am STILL learning about my hair. Just when I get into a nice predictable groove with my hair, something inevitably changes and I have to try something new.


Here's a little background on my journey:


I started transitioning (aka growing out my relaxed ends) fall 2011. After about a year, I cut off the relaxed ends and rocked a TWA. In fall 2014, I'd reached bra strap/mid back length then cut it into a tapered fro (which I regretted). That was also the winter that I fell pregnant. At about 7 months pregnant, in July 2015, I was completely tired of my hair and cut it BALD (which I loved!). I rocked a low cut for about 5 months before deciding to cut my hair bald again January 2016 (WHICH I REGRETTED). At that point, I realized I didn't want to cut my hair anymore and I've been growing it out since then.


2018 Hits


Needless to say, there have been many changes! The basic rules stay the same, but the methods periodically need adjusting. Here's what I tried and liked this year:



#1. HOT HEADS HEAT CAP

This year, I finally moved out of my mom's house into an apartment. I love the new place, but there was just no way I would attempt to cram my beloved hooded dryer in this smaller space. However there is NO denying how much more effective my deep treatments are with heat so I had to find something! Yall, this little cap may be a bit of an investment at about $40, but when it comes to convenience it is unmatched! I loved the results of deep conditioning with my hooded dryer, but hated being stuck in one spot for 15-30 minutes.



With this, you just pop it in the microwave for a few minutes (the flaxseeds in the cap hold heat), put it on top of your plastic cap then voila! Portable deep conditioning! It's super compact so you don't have to worry about storage, plus it's reversible and the print options are super cute. I'd say it's worth the money.




#2. BENTONITE CLAY MASK

AKA the act right mask. Hair being unruly? Getchu some ACT RIGHT! Lol yall, when I say this hair mask CHANGED the game for me?? I'd previously been using Shea Moisture's Deep Treatment mask and it was great...until it wasn't. I'm not sure if the formula changed (pretty sure it did) or my hair had changed or a bit of both, but either way it just wasn't as effective. So I ventured out to try the clay I'd originally bought for my face...on my hair. I eyeballed the amount of clay and apple cider vinegar until I got a nice creamy consistency. Then I added EVOO, slapped on my heat cap and hoped for the best.




Dude. Once I rinsed this mask out, my hair was SO DEFINED, SO SHINY, and most of all when I put on my leave in conditioner it absorbed effortlessly. This stuff not only defined my hair, but it's detoxing properties deep cleaned my hair without stripping it. IT MADE MY OTHER PRODUCTS WORK BETTER. Seriously, I found I didn't even need to use as much product after this mask. No question, it's a keeper.




#3. MINI TWISTS

Now this one was a pure accident. I'd washed my hair the night before and had to go to work in the morning. The only thing is...my hair wasn't fully dry. We all know the results of taking down hair too early: frizz, shrinkage, and more frizz. So I mini twisted the front really quick and left the back of my hair under a beanie cap. Long story short, that weekend, I got inspired to loc my hair and with mini twists being one of the methods of starting locs, I went ahead and twisted the rest of my hair. In that month of mini twist starter locs, I not only didn't have to detangle my hair, but it retained SO. MUCH. MOISTURE. Loved the results, the installation is time consuming. Not sure if I'll be keeping this in my regimen.


2018 Misses


Without further adieu, here is what I regret doing to my hair this year:


#1. USING (the wrong) BOX DYE

Earlier this year I got the itch to color my hair a fuschia/violet reddish blend but with no coloring expertise I opted for a permanent box dye. HUGE MISTAKE. The color came out very vibrant and I really liked it, but after a while I noticed my hair had become a bit thin at the ends. Overall, it just wasn't as thick and healthy as it was before. It took a minute to realize it was probably due to the color. [Before that, I'd only used Manic Panic temporary color, henna, and Shea Moisture's hair dye with no adverse affects whatsoever.] Not saying you should never color your hair, but I know that from getting it professionally colored and using a cheap box dye, my hair incurred notable damage. BOX DYES ARE CANCELLED.


#2. USING (the wrong) TOOL FOR DETANGLING

Mind you, I have been using the denman brush for years and absolutely loved it. It just worked for my hair....until it didn't. Following the damage from the hair color, I also noticed my hair was much more difficult to detangle. In this new state, my ends needed something less intricate than a denman brush and it took me a long time to realize this. I finally (accidentally) picked up a wide tooth comb and it was such a smoother detangling session!! The denman brush is suspended until further notice


#3. MANIPULATING DRY HAIR

I'm sure that by now everyone knows not to attempt detangling or combing/brushing natural hair in its dry state. These are natural hair basics that I faithfully adhered to. However, we also know that attempting to wear natural hair out before it's completely dried equals heartbreak, shrinkage, and frizz. so. much. frizz.

So after washing, I usually let my hair air dry in chunky twists for a few days. Then I'll unravel the twists to style and wear my hair out with unmatched definition. I'd separate my curls and fluff my roots on dry hair to avoid frizz and get maximum length. While dry hair is great for definition, it's also a nightmare for manipulation. What's a girl to do?!

I started to notice that when I took my scarf off while in the shower, the moisture and heat from the steam would make my hair much easier to manipulate. Plus somehow I got the idea to lightly mist my hair after taking down my chunky twists and that also made for easier manipulation. The key is not to saturate your hair. You don't want it to be wet or damp. Just a light mist is all it takes.

 

And with that, I'm hoping that 2019 will make for a smoother ride with my hair. As it grows, the basic rules stay the same, but some methods will need to be adjusted. What were some of the biggest lessons (and mistakes) you learned regarding your hair this past year?? Let me know in the comments below!

Post: Blog2_Post
bottom of page